Running Training Program for October 2-8

Tuesday, October 3: 5 miles

  1. start with 1-2 mi easy
  2. 3 x 800m at tempo, then 4 x 200m fast with 1-3 min easy between each interval
  3. easy finish to 5

Wednesday, October 4: 3 miles

  1. start with 1.25 mi easy
  2. 4 x 100m fast with a 30 sec recovery jog between each 100
  3. finish with 1.25 mi easy

Thursday, October 5: 4 miles

Saturday, October 7: 2 miles

Sunday, October 8: HALF 13.1 miles - have fun!

Note: tempo = faster than usual, comfortably hard; strides = near 85% max effort

Running Training Program for September 25-October 1

Tuesday, September 26: 7 miles

  1. start with 1-2 mi easy
  2. 3 x 1600m at tempo, then 4 x 200m fast with 1-3 min easy between each interval
  3. easy finish to 7

Wednesday, September 27: 3 miles

  1. start with 1 mi easy
  2. 6 x 150m fast with a 30 sec recovery jog between each 150
  3. finish with 1 mi easy

Thursday, September 28: 6 miles

Saturday, September 30: 9 miles

Note: tempo = faster than usual, comfortably hard; strides = near 85% max effort

Running Training Program for September 18-24

Tuesday, September 19: 7 miles

  1. start with 1-2 mi easy
  2. 5 mi at tempo
  3. easy finish to 7

Wednesday, September 20: 3 miles

Thursday, September 21: 6 miles

  1. start with 2.5 mi easy
  2. 6 x 150m fast with a 30 sec recovery jog between each 150
  3. finish with 2.5 mi easy

Saturday, September 23: 14 miles

Note: tempo = faster than usual, comfortably hard; strides = near 85% max effort

Running Training Program for September 11-17

Tuesday, September 12: 7 miles

  1. start with 1-2 mi easy
  2. 3 x 1600m at tempo, then 4 x 200m fast with 1-3 min easy between each interval
  3. easy finish to 7

Wednesday, September 13: 3 miles

  1. start with 1 mi easy
  2. 6 x 150m fast with a 30 sec recovery jog between each 150
  3. finish with 1 mi easy

Thursday, September 14: 6 miles

Saturday, September 16: 13 miles

Note: tempo = faster than usual, comfortably hard; strides = near 85% max effort

Running Training Program for September 4-10

Tuesday, September 5: 6 miles

Wednesday, September 6: 3 miles

  1. start with 1800m easy
  2. 4 x 150m fast with a 30 sec recovery jog between each 150
  3. finish with 1800m easy

Thursday, September 7: 6 miles, then 6 x 150m strides with 30 sec recovery between each 150 (strides = near 85% max effort)

Saturday, September 9: 12 miles

Note: tempo = faster than usual, comfortably hard; strides = near 85% max effort

Running Training Program for August 28-September 3

Tuesday, August 29: 7 miles

  1. start with 1-2 mi easy
  2. 4 x 1200m at tempo, then 4 x 200m fast with 1-3 min easy between each interval
  3. easy finish to 7

Wednesday, August 30: 3 miles

  1. start with 1800m easy
  2. 4 x 150m fast with a 30 sec recovery jog between each 150
  3. finish with 1800m easy

Thursday, August 31: 6 miles

Saturday, September 2: 11 miles

Note: tempo = faster than usual, comfortably hard

Running Training Program for August 21-27

Tuesday, August 22: 7 miles

  1. start with 1-2 mi easy
  2. 4 mi at tempo
  3. easy finish to 7

Wednesday, August 23: 3 miles

  1. start with 1800m easy
  2. 4 x 150m fast with a 30 sec recovery jog between each 150
  3. finish with 1800m easy

Thursday, August 24: 7 miles

Saturday, August 26: 2 miles

Sunday, August 27: 10.2 miles

  1. start with 2 mi easy
  2. 10k time trial
  3. finish with 2 mi easy

Note: tempo = faster than usual, comfortably hard

Running Training Program for August 14-20

Tuesday, August 15: 6 miles

  1. start with 1-2 mi easy
  2. 3 x 1200m at tempo, then 4 x 200m fast with 1-3 min easy between each interval
  3. easy finish to 6

Wednesday, August 16: 3 miles

  1. start with 1800m easy
  2. 4 x 150m fast with a 30 sec recovery jog between each 150
  3. finish with 1800m easy

Thursday, August 17: 7 miles

Saturday, August 19: 10 miles

Note: tempo = faster than usual, comfortably hard

Running Training Program for July 31-August 6

Tuesday, August 1: 6 miles, hills, strong uphill, easy downhill

Wednesday, August 2: 2 miles

  1. start with 1000m easy
  2. 4 x 150m fast with a 30 sec recovery jog between each 150
  3. finish with 1000m easy

Thursday, August 3: 5 miles

  1. start with 1-2 mi easy
  2. 5 x 800m at tempo, then 4 x 200m fast with 1-3 min easy between each interval
  3. easy finish to 5

Saturday, August 5: 8 miles

Note: tempo = faster than usual, comfortably hard

Running Training Program for July 24-30

Tuesday, July 25: 5 miles

  1. start with 1-2 mi easy
  2. 4 x 800m at tempo with 1-3 min easy between each 800 (tempo = faster than usual, comfortably hard)
  3. easy finish to 5

Wednesday, July 26: 2 miles

  1. start with 1000m easy
  2. 4 x 150m fast with a 30 sec recovery jog between each 150
  3. finish with 1000m easy

Thursday, July 27: 6 miles

Saturday, July 29: 7 miles

Note: tempo = faster than usual, comfortably hard